James R. Moffett

Mr. Moffett serves as Chairman Emeritus of Freeport-McMoRan Inc. He served as Chairman of the Board of Freeport-McMoRan Inc. from 1992 to 2015 and as Chief Executive Officer from 1995 to 2003.

From 1964 to 1969, Mr. Moffett was a consulting geologist. In 1969, he and two associates founded McMoRan Oil & Gas Co., which developed into one of America’s leading independent oil and gas companies. In 1981, Mr. Moffett led the effort to merge McMoRan Oil & Gas Co. and Freeport Minerals Company. The merger resulted in the establishment of our former parent company, which became one of the world’s leading natural resource companies of which he served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer from 1984-1997, when it was acquired. 

Mr. Moffett serves on several boards and has received many awards, including the 1990 Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Award. In May 2000, he received that Association’s Norman Vincent Peale Award for his exceptional humanitarian contributions to society. He is also a member of the University of Texas McCombs School of Business Hall of Fame and the American Mining Hall of Fame, Mining Foundation of the Southwest. Mr. Moffett received a Bachelor of Science degree with special honors in Geology from the University of Texas at Austin while on a full football scholarship and a Master of Science degree in Geology from Tulane University. He has also received an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from Louisiana State University and a Doctor of Financial Economics, Honoris Causa, degree from the University of New Orleans.

J. Bennett Johnston

Senator Johnston is the Chairman of Johnston & Associates, LLC, a business consulting firm. He is also the Chairman of Johnston Development Co. LLC, a project development firm, and provides consulting services to FCX.  A native of Shreveport, LA, Senator Johnston earned his J.D. degree at Louisiana State University before serving as a Louisiana State Representative and State Senator from 1964-1972. He was elected to and served in the United States Senate from 1972-1997, where he took the lead on numerous pieces of legislation regarding U.S.-Asian relations, specifically dealing with China and Southeast Asia.     

J. Stapleton Roy

Ambassador Roy joined Kissinger Associates, Inc., international consultants and consultants to FCX, in January 2001 and is now Senior Advisor. In 2008, Ambassador Roy was named Director of the Kissinger Institute on China and the United States at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. During his forty-five year career with the U.S. Government, he has served in many different capacities, including Ambassador to Singapore from 1984 through 1986, Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China from 1991 until 1995 and as Ambassador to Indonesia from 1996 until 1999.  Most recently, he was Assistant Secretary of State for Intelligence and Research from November 1999 until December 2000 when he retired from the State Department and joined Kissinger Associates.  Ambassador Roy received his B.A. in History from Princeton University and also attended the University of Washington in Seattle, specializing in Mongolian Studies.  Ambassador Roy also served on the board of directors of ConocoPhillips, from which he retired in May 2008.